Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 8, 2022 20:17 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Dec 8, 2022 20:17 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 7 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 36 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 97 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 222 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 566 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
A strong magnitude 5.4 earthquake occurred in North Atlantic Ocean 8 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 4.0 | North Pacific Ocean, 48 km S of La Loma, Coahuayana, Michoacan, Mexico -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 5.4 | North Atlantic Ocean -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours140 quakes97 quakes M3+36 quakes M4+7 quakes M5+
Strongest quake: Mag. 5.8 on Thursday, Dec 8, 2022 at 7:50 am (GMT +7) – 14 km NW of Ciranjang-hilir, West Java, Indonesia
Past 7 days1,139 quakes812 quakes M3+289 quakes M4+35 quakes M5+3 quakes M6+
Past 30 days4,892 quakes3,416 quakes M3+1,284 quakes M4+176 quakes M5+12 quakes M6+4 quakes M7+
Past 90 days14,664 quakes10,248 quakes M3+3,933 quakes M4+442 quakes M5+34 quakes M6+7 quakes M7+
Past 365 days64,052 quakes46,527 quakes M3+15,649 quakes M4+1,734 quakes M5+129 quakes M6+13 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 3.6 or higher (20 out of 928 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, December 8, 2022 GMT (20 quakes)
Dec 8, 2022 19:41 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 11:11 pm (GMT +3:30)
?

n/a
Southern Iran (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 8, 2022 18:57 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 12:57 pm (GMT -6)
4.0

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, 48 km south of La Loma, Coahuayana, Michoacan, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 18:49 GMT
Dec 9, 2022 7:49 am (GMT +13)
3.9

5 km
West Coast, 81 km northwest of Wanaka, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 15:00 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 9:00 am (GMT -6)
4.3

1 km
16 km southeast of Puerto Barrios, Departamento de Izabal, Guatemala
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Dec 8, 2022 14:51 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 10:51 pm (GMT +8)
4.6

208 km
North Sulawesi, 94 km east of Gorontalo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 14:45 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 3:45 am (GMT -11)
5.3

10 km
South Pacific Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 13:30 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 10:30 pm (GMT +9)
4.1

10 km
East China Sea, 17 km southwest of Kanoya, Kagoshima, Japan
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Dec 8, 2022 13:29 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 10:29 pm (GMT +9)
4.1

8.7 km
East China Sea, 17 km southwest of Kanoya, Kagoshima, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 12:45 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 9:45 pm (GMT +9)
3.7

12 km
South Pacific Ocean, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 12:44 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 10:44 am (GMT -2)
5.4

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 8, 2022 11:21 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 8:21 am (GMT -3)
4.4

79 km
16 km southeast of Talca, Maule Region, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 10:31 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 4:31 pm (GMT +6)
4.0

10 km
70 km northwest of Stepnogorsk, Aqmola Oblysy, Kazakhstan
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 8, 2022 10:21 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 1:21 pm (GMT +3)
4.4

44 km
57 km south of Buynaksk, Dagestan, Russia
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 8, 2022 10:21 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 3:21 am (GMT -7)
4.4

7 km
North Pacific Ocean, 225 km southwest of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 10:17 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 12:17 am (GMT -10)
4.3

57 km
Bering Sea, 54 mi east of Adak, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 10:06 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 11:06 pm (GMT +13)
5.1

63 km
South Pacific Ocean, 181 km southwest of Apia, Tuamasaga, Samoa
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 10:03 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 4:03 am (GMT -6)
3.6

8 km
25 km west of Puerto Escondido, San Pedro Mixtepec -Dto. 22 -, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 09:48 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 3:48 am (GMT -6)
3.8

19 km
North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southeast of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 09:47 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 6:47 pm (GMT +9)
4.6

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, 73 km south of Futami, Tokyo, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 09:46 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 11:46 am (GMT +2)
3.8

69 km
Darnah, 61 km west of Tobruk, Al Buţnān, Libya
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.9 x 1013 joules (5.26 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 4529 tons of TNT or 0.3 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings